Storytiming

let readers grow!

More Books With Boogie Woogie

4 Comments

More Singable Picture Books

One of my favorite authors, April Pulley Sayre, pinged me on her blog! She calls me a “cool librarian” (okay, so maybe that’s an oxymoron, but who am I to argue with such a wordsmith?). Anyway, I have been a fan of Sayre’s for a long time. She’s one of those rare authors who can write fascinating, engaging books for kids of all ages.

If You're Hoppy by April Pulley Sayre

Her latest If You’re Hoppy, is already on our Best Books of 2011 list. It’s an awesome singable picture book (SPB).  The concept for this book is singularly brilliant.  I was all, “Where has this book been all my life!?” So thank you, Ms. Sayre, for filling a void I didn’t know was there!

I love SPBs. I use them in storytime as often as possible. I also open every Bibliobop Dance Party with one.  Last year I posted a detailed description of this program, including a list of SPBs. But it occurs to me that, several wonderful SPBs have come out since that last post. And here’s a few additional titles that will get toes tapping at storytime:

Croaky Pokey by Ethan Long

Pete the Cat by Eric Litwin

If You're a Monster and You Know It by Rebecca Emberley

Giraffes Can't Dance by Giles Andreae**

**Giraffes Can’t Dance is a sneaky one. My co-worker discovered that the rhythm of this rhyming picture books is in the exact same meter as Miss Suzy Had a Steamboat. Singing this book makes it a very enjoyable read-aloud.

Steal This Program!

I want to take this opportunity to encourage other youth services librarians to consider offering dance parties in their libraries. Here’s why in bullet point format:

  • Requires little preparation, planning, and $.
  • Gives young children a great opportunity to get some energy out without disturbing other patrons.
  • It’s crazy fun!
  • Highlights children’s music collection.
  • Strenghtens bonds with the youngest patrons and their parents.

I get about a million hugs after dance parties. Even the shyest kids who hide behind their moms when they first enter the room, feel comfortable with me by the end of the hour.  I’ve seen these same kids start showing up at storytime the next week. Often, they’ll plop down at the front of the room, totally comfortable, confident, and ready to participate.  This isn’t the most scientific conclusion, but I see many of the behaviors discussed in this Zero to Three Article reflected in the children who attend Bibliobops. Anyway it’s a little food for thought.

4 thoughts on “More Books With Boogie Woogie

  1. Pingback: You Won’t Get Busted For Bibliobopping! Q&A «

  2. I got to your site looking for music for a preschool dance storytime I’m planning and now I totally want to host dance parties at my library! 🙂

    Another great dance picture book is HILDA MUST BE DANCING by Karma Wilson. One of my favorites!

    Thanks for posting!!!

    • You should! it’s the easiest program to set up, and it’s ridiculously fun every time. something memorably silly always happens at bibliobop.

  3. Hello!

    I was doing a little research and stumbled on your post. I write a blog about the wonderful world of Singable Picture Books:
    http://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/

    You might especially enjoy the Singable Bookshelves which are filled with SPBs organized alphabetically by title. Cover images and author/composer info are listed. Many titles are linked to articles I wrote about the song/book with everything from YouTubes to sing along resources, to song history (and more!).

    Lots of info and resources are there and I hope you can check it all out and use some of the info for your storytimes.

    I regularly perform “Sing Books” gatherings at schools, libraries, bookstores, and private parties. SOOOOO much fun and it is my passion…along with my life as a mom, wife, and cabaret artist (http://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/sing-books-with-emily-the-cabaret/).

    It is AMAZING how many wonderful Singable Picture Books there are out there and how much educational, social, and cultural value they embody!

    All my best wishes to you and with many thanks for sharing your passion for storytime!!
    Emily

Leave a comment